Jan Michiels

about the author

Jan Michiels (b. 1966) is Professor of Piano at the Royal Conservatoire Brussels, where he also leads the class on contemporary music. He studied with Hans Leygraf at the Hochschule der Künste in Berlin, where he was awarded an exceptional distinction for his interpretations of Bartók’s Second Piano Concerto and Ligeti’s Etudes. A laureate in several international competitions (including the Queen Elizabeth, Brussels) he conducted piano masterclasses in London, Murcia, Hamburg, Oslo, Montepulciano, and Szombathely. In addition to his activity as a pianist, Jan Michiels has a doctorate in the arts centred on Luigi Nono’s Prometeo. He is a senior research fellow at the Orpheus Institute, Ghent, and an active member of the core team of ME21.

info & contact


Royal Conservatoire of Brussels, BE


jan_inge [AT] telenet.be




Compositions by Olivier Messiaen and Luigi Nono
(in DARE 2015: the dark precursor )
keywords: Luigi Nono, Olivier Messiaen

Compositions by Pascale Criton and Clara Maïda
(in DARE 2015: the dark precursor )
keywords: Clara Maïda, Deborah Walker, Pascale Criton